In The News
Product Feedback
Golf Tips
Tips by Barry G.
Tech Tips
Customer Loyalty
Foundry Program
Pro-Fit System
Shipping Prices
Drop Shipping
Order Tracking
Contact Us

For Lefties
For Ladies
For Juniors
Long Drivers
Specialty Shafts

Subscribe to newsletter

With seven weeks left, Tiger clinches Player of Year
by Associated Press

JACKSONVILLE, Florida (AP) - With seven weeks left in the season, Tiger Woods clinched the PGA Player of the Year, a points-based award handed out by the PGA of America since 1948.

It was the seventh time in nine years Woods has won the award. Tom Watson won it six times during an eight-year span.

The PGA Player of the Year award gives 30 points for majors, 20 points for The Players Championship and 10 points for all other U.S. PGA Tour victories. It also awards as many as 20 points depending on where a player finishes on the money list and in scoring average.

Woods cannot be caught because he won two majors, which carries a 50-point bonus.

The only other players to win the award since Woods' first full season in 1997 were Mark O'Meara, a double major winner in 1998; and Vijay Singh, who won the U.S. PGA Championship and eight other tournaments last year.

The U.S. PGA Tour's award is a vote of the players and will be decided after the Tour Championship in November.

All news
Guarantee | Security | Privacy Policy | Customer Service | About Us

Michigan Website Development and Internet Marketing by Web Ascender

Partners | Golf Club Clones | Custom Golf Clubs